Community members on Patrol. Photo Credit: Majoreni BMU.

The Role of Coastal Kenya Communities in Maritime Security

The maritime zone includes the internal waters and from the baseline, the territorial sea (12 nm), the contiguous zone (24 nm), the EEZ (200 nm), high seas and deep ocean floor. The government of Kenya has exclusive rights to exploit resources up to the EEZ. However, the EEZ is governed by the international law (UNCLOS) […]